The subjects are taught by native British teachers in a way that encourages students to solve problems, by themselves or in groups, and gain a deeper understanding of the material. The lessons are varied and include the use of technology where appropriate to help personalise and accelerate learning.

Key Stage 3 (Years 7, 8 & 9)

For the first three years of Secondary, a large part of the curriculum is centred on the following subjects: English Language and Literature, Mathematics, Science, History, Geography, Drama, Music, Art, IT and Physical Education.

In addition, Spanish language and humanities (sociales) are taught according to the requirements of the Spanish Ministry of Education, while those new to the language are offered support classes at their level. Pupils also follow a comprehensive personal and social education programme, covering areas such as citizenship, health, careers, and study skills.


Key Stage 4 (Years 10 & 11) and IGCSE

The typical Hastings pupil will earn 9 IGCSE certificates: First Language English, English Literature, Mathematics, Science (at least one course), French, Spanish, plus three subjects selected per pupil from History, Geography, Art, Digital Media (photography), Computer Science, Business, P.E.  or Drama.

Obligatory non-IGCSE subjects in years 10 and 11 include Physical Education (2 classes per week) and Personal, Social, Health Education (1 class per week).

IGCSE – Art & DesignDownload
IGCSE – Business studiesDownload
IGCSE – Coordinated sciencesDownload
IGCSE – First Language EnglishDownload
IGCSE – First Language FrenchDownload
IGCSE – FrenchDownload
IGCSE – GeographyDownload
IGCSE – HistoryDownload
IGCSE – ICTDownload
IGCSE – English literatureDownload
IGCSE – MathematicsDownload
IGCSE – SpanishDownload

Get In Touch